No Slivers Here

November 23, 2008

Apple Cranberry Crisp

Filed under: Dessert, Fruit, Holiday — Tags: , — bettylou79 @ 1:02 pm

Yummy! I love fall because of all the yummy foods and desserts. Apple crisp is one of my favorite desserts. When this recipe popped up in my Google Reader from Annie’s Eats, check out her blog, everything she makes looks great, I knew that I had to try it. It also just so happened that I had two bags of fresh cranberries sitting in my refrigerator. Yahoo!! I just couldn’t pass them up at the grocery store. I’ll admit they were an impulse buy! I allow myself about 2 impulse buys per shopping trip and then I stick to my list!

I made this recipe for a few reasons, one was because it looked good (good reason, eh?) and the other was in honor of The Apple Cup. If you are from Washington state there is no way that you can not know about The Apple Cup, even if you didn’t go to either college involved in the football game. We have quite the cross state rivalry with this game. This football game takes place every fall and involves the Washington State University Cougars (Go Cougs!) who are in Pullman (close to Idaho) and the University of Washington Huskies, located in Seattle. The game takes place at one of the colleges and they switch every year. I did not go to either college but my husband went to Washington State University, so I am guilty by association. I would love to tell you that both teams are doing great this year but that is not the case at all. Neither team has won a game this year, at least in their conference. The are both Pac-10 schools, so your university may have played one of these Washington schools. Usually both teams are doing really well! So this game was really the match up of who stinks less! I’m happy to tell you that my beloved Cougars won the game 16 to 13 in double over time. This game was nerve wracking, and I wasn’t even there and didn’t even go to the school!

I adore the color that the cranberry’s make the apples. Such a fun pink color. Enjoy! Next time I’ll serve this with ice cream. Enjoy!

100_3398

Apple Cranberry Crisp

source: Annie’s Eats

Ingredients:

For the filling:

2 ½ -3 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and sliced thin

2/3 cup fresh or frozen cranberries

1 tbsp. sugar

1 tbsp. light brown sugar, packed

¼ tsp. ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg

1 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

For the topping:

½ cup plus 2 tbsp. all-purpose flour

½ cup rolled instant oats

¼ cup sugar

¼ cup light brown sugar, packed

6 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350° F. Butter an 8×8” square baking dish. Set aside.

To prepare the filling, combine the apple slices and cranberries in a medium bowl. Add the sugars, cinnamon and nutmeg. Add the melted butter and toss the ingredients until the fruit is evenly coated. Pour the fruit into the prepared baking dish in an even layer.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, oats and sugars, and toss with a fork until well combined. Add in the melted butter and mix until all dry ingredients are moistened. Crumble the mixture evenly over the fruit. Bake for 35-40 minutes. Serve warm.

Source: adapted from Use Real Butter

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Banana Smoothie Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

