No Slivers Here

September 7, 2008

Mr. John’s Meatloaf

Filed under: Beef, Main Dish, Pork — Tags: — bettylou79 @ 2:04 am

This meatloaf was a definite hit and a twist on the old stand by family recipe. I made a few modifications though. The recipe calls for a spice rub made famous by Emeril but I already had a rub that I made a month ago so that worked out quite well. The recipe also calls for a sausage to be placed in the middle of the loaf but I opted to not do that. The other change that I made was that instead of forming the meat into a loaf on a cookie sheet, I put it in a loaf pan. Oh! The recipe also called for a chili sauce on top but I used plain old ketchup!

We will definitely make this again. I was really impressed at how well the meatloaf held together after it had cooled a little bit. I did notice that it took the meatloaf more than an hour to get up to temperature. I checked it with my meat thermometer after an hour and my thermometer was barely moving. I really though that it was broken! I think that all in all it took the meatloaf about an hour and 20 minutes to bake.

I found this recipe in my Everyday Food magazine for this month. Yet another keeper. I think we are going to try the spice rub in turkey meatloaf mixture with some turkey sausage instead of the pork that this recipe calls for.

Enjoy!

Mr. John’s Meatloaf

source: Everyday Food Martha Stewart

Ingredients

Serves 8

  • 1 pound ground beef chuck
  • 1/2 pound ground pork
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 1 cup plain dried breadcrumbs
  • 1 green bell pepper (ribs and seeds removed), finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 tablespoon Emeril’s Creole Seasoning
  • 8 ounces fresh chorizo sausage (not smoked)
  • 1/2 cup bottled chili sauce

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil; set aside. In a large bowl, combine beef, pork, eggs, onion, breadcrumbs, bell pepper, cream, 1 1/4 teaspoons salt, 1/2 teaspoon pepper, and Creole Seasoning. Gently mix to combine (do not overmix).
  2. Place half of meat mixture on prepared sheet; form into a 9-by-4-inch loaf. Using a paring knife, remove casing from chorizo (keeping the shape intact). Place chorizo lengthwise down center of loaf. Cover with rest of meat mixture, enclosing the chorizo and patting to adhere.
  3. Brush chili sauce over meatloaf. Bake, basting occasionally with pan juices, until an instant-read thermometer inserted in center of loaf registers 160 degrees, about 1 hour. Let rest 15 minutes before serving.
1 Comment »

  1. I need to make meatloaf soon… its definitely the weather that’s making me crave such comfort foods!

    Comment by Joelen — September 8, 2008 @ 11:00 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

