No Slivers Here

October 1, 2008

Italian Meatballs and Spaghetti Squash

Filed under: Main Dish, Turkey, Vegetables — Tags: , , — bettylou79 @ 9:11 am

While browsing my Google Reader a few weeks back I came across a recipe featuring Italian meatballs. I knew that I had another use for that ground turkey taking over my freezer! Only one more package to go, thank goodness! I spotted the recipe here and saw that it was from Joy of Cooking and I instantly remembered that my fabulous sister-in-law gave me that cookbook for Christmas!

These meatballs were wonderful! The might even rival this Martha Stewart recipe! Who knows, I might even become a meatball connoisseur!! I wasn’t feeling particularly adventurous so I just used a jarred sauce to go with the meatballs.

I served the meatballs with Spaghetti Squash which is becoming another one of my favorite fall and winter squashes. I love how easy it is and it is just plays with your brain and your mouth. It looks like spaghetti and yet it tastes a bit nutty but still has a consistency similar to actual spaghetti. I strongly suggest you give it a try! My only suggestion is to not cook it too long. I did that once and it came out mushy! Actually it was done, but I left in the oven after I turned it off so it would stay warm. Darn those late dinner guests!! Enjoy!

Spaghetti Squash

source: Martha Stewart

To prepare the spaghetti squash, preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut squash in half and scoop out seeds. Drizzle cut sides of squashes with oil; season with salt and pepper. Place cut sides up on a baking sheet. Bake until soft to the touch, 1 to 1 1/4 hours. I’ve baked mine cut side down and they turned out fine.

Italian Meatballs

source: Joy of Cooking (found on recipezaar.com)

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground beef (I used ground turkey)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup chopped parsley
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup fresh breadcrumb
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 3 tablespoons dry red wine (optional)
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Directions

  1. Mix all ingredients up to the dried oregano with your hands.
  2. Scoop out mixture in heaping tablespoons and form into 2-inch balls.
  3. Dredge the meatballs in the flour.
  4. Heat in a large skillet over medium heat the 2 tablespoons of olive oil.
  5. Brown the meatballs in batches.
  6. Place in baking pan and cook in a preheated 375 degree oven for 10 minutes.
  7. Or, if desired finish cooking in the sauce of your choice.
  8. Enjoy!
1 Comment »

  1. […] Italian Meatballs with Spaghetti Squash […]

    Pingback by One Year Ago Today… « No Slivers Here — June 10, 2009 @ 9:24 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

