No Slivers Here

October 1, 2008

Roasted Winter Squash

Filed under: Side Dishes, Vegetables — Tags: — bettylou79 @ 9:34 am

Let me just start out by saying that I LOVE squash! I get so excited when I see the big bins of it in the grocery store! I have loved squash since I was a baby! I’m about to embarrass my mom with my impending story! She fed me a lot of squash when I was a baby! She fed me so much that I turned orange! Yes, new moms, it is possible! My mom said that she didn’t notice until she took me to the doctor for a check up. The doctor asked if I liked squash and my mom said yes. She asked how he knew and he said that I was a little orange! My mom was so embarrassed and then asked what she should do. He said not to worry but to feed me some green veggies and that should do the trick! I still love squash to this day!

This will probably not be the last squash recipe you see on this blog. My mom usually prepares Acorn Squash a different way and I was looking for a different way for last night. Again, Cooking Light did not fail me! Don’t worry, you will get to see the way my mom bakes squash. I really don’t think that squash can go on sale fast enough!

This recipe was good but I still like my squash a bit sweeter with some brown sugar. I am looking forward to finding new recipes for roasting squash. Enjoy!

Roasted Winter Squash

source: Cooking Light

Ingredients

  • 3 pounds butternut squash, acorn squash, or spaghetti squash (I used 1 acorn squash)
  • 1 tablespoon butter or margarine, melted
  • 1/2 tablespoon honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

Preparation

Remove stem from squash. Cut squash in half lengthwise; remove and discard seeds. Cut each half into 4 wedges, and place on an aluminum foil-lined jelly-roll pan. (If using spaghetti squash, cut each half into 2 wedges.)

Stir together butter and honey until blended. Brush squash evenly with butter mixture; sprinkle evenly with salt and pepper.

Bake at 450° for 30 to 35 minutes or until tender, turning once. Cut skins from squash wedges, and discard.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

