No Slivers Here

October 1, 2008

Soy-Glazed Salmon

Filed under: Fish, Main Dish — Tags: — bettylou79 @ 9:22 am

I bought some salmon at the grocery store on Sunday as I had planned to make it for dinner on Monday. When dinner time rolled around I really wasn’t sure how I wanted to cook it so I turned to my new trusty friend, Cooking Light. I searched the website and came across this recipe. It was very flavorful and extremely easy to prepare. Usually I have problems making sure that salmon is done but this recipe worked out perfect! This will stay in my fish rotation of recipes. I also loved that I had all of the ingredients on hand and they weren’t odd, maybe the Sesame Seeds were odd, but I had those from a salad that I made in the summer. I’m not looking forward to cleaning the pan, though. The sauce gets nice and baked on! It is actually still soaking in the sink. That will be my project for tonight! Enjoy!

Soy-Glazed Salmon

source: Cooking Light

Ingredients

  • 1 cup reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon finely minced garlic
  • 4 pieces (about 6 oz. each) salmon fillet (see notes), skin on
  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds

Preparation

1. In a 1- to 2-quart pan, mix soy sauce, honey, and garlic. Stir often over medium-high heat until glaze is reduced by about a third, 7 to 10 minutes.

2. Pour 3 tablespoons glaze into a small bowl and reserve. Pour remainder into a shallow 2- to 3-quart baking dish. Set salmon pieces in dish, skin side up; let stand 15 minutes. Turn salmon pieces over.

3. Bake in a 450° oven until salmon has turned opaque at the edges but is still translucent in the center (cut to test), 15 to 20 minutes. Remove from oven.

4. Increase oven heat to broil. Brush salmon evenly with about half the reserved glaze and sprinkle evenly with sesame seeds. Broil 6 inches from heat until sesame seeds are toasted and salmon is opaque but still moist-looking in center of thickest part (cut to test), 2 to 3 minutes.

5. Drizzle salmon with remaining reserved glaze. Use a wide spatula to transfer pieces to plates.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

