No Slivers Here

October 23, 2008

Acorn Squash

Filed under: Side Dishes, Vegetables — Tags: — bettylou79 @ 11:49 am

Ahh squash! I was absolutely stuffed when I neared the end of my meal but I’m silly and made myself power through and finish the last of my squash! I love squash. I told my husband that I wasn’t going to finish the pork chop on my plate because I can have that anytime of year but squash only comes around for a few months! I grew up having squash prepared this way. My mom and grandma would make it in the microwave instead of the oven. I’ve attempted to make it in the microwave several times but it never turns out quite right, probably because I haven’t cooked it long enough.

I modeled tonights recipe after what my mom makes and this recipe. My changes are below in red. Enjoy!!

Classic Baked Acorn Squash Recipe

source: My mom and this recipe

1 Acorn squash
1 Tbsp Butter
2 Tbsp Brown Sugar ( I filled each squash half with brown sugar)
2 teaspoons Maple Syrup (I omitted)
2 slices bacon
Dash of Salt

Method

1 Preheat oven to 400°F.

2 Using a strong chef’s knife, and perhaps a rubber mallet to help, cut the acorn squash in half, lengthwise, from stem to end. Use a spoon to scoop out the seeds and stringy stuff in the center of each half. Score the insides of each half several times with a sharp knife. Place each half in a baking pan, cut side up.

3 Coat the inside of each half with 1/2 a Tbsp of butter. Add a dash of salt if you are using unsalted butter. Add a Tbsp of brown sugar to the cavity of each half. I place a slice of bacon on top of the tablespoon of butter then I fill each half with brown sugar.

4 Bake in the oven for 1 hour to 1 hour 15 minutes, until the squash is very soft and the tops are browned. Do not undercook. When finished, remove from oven and let cool a little before serving. Spoon any buttery sugar sauce that has not already been absorbed by the squash over the exposed areas.

Serves 2 to 4, depending on how much squash you like to eat.

Pumpkin Bread

Filed under: Bread, Breakfast, Dessert, Holiday, Vegetables — Tags: — bettylou79 @ 11:25 am

This past weekend my husband and I went to the Pumpkin Patch in my hometown, while we were visiting my mom. I love going to farms in the valley. In fact I love being in the farm country in general. I love it when the weather is nice and sunny, it doesn’t need to be warm just sunny. Here a few pictures from the pumpkin patch and some of our treasures. Remember how I said that I love squash, well here it is in all it’s glory! There are many more posts about squash were this one came from!!

Nate’s artistic shot!

This looks exactly like a classic pumpkin patch.

Some of the decorative gourds. The glitter pumpkins were made by me. I used funkins.

The sugar pumpkins who were sacrificed for this dish!!

PUMPKIN BREAD

source: Joy of Cooking

One 9 x 5-inch loaf
This loaf can be made with any cooked mashed squash, yams, or sweet potatoes.
Preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan.
Whisk together:
1 1⁄2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1⁄4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 1⁄2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1⁄2 teaspoon grated or ground nutmeg
1⁄4 teaspoon ground cloves

Combine in a small bowl:
1⁄3 cup water or milk
1⁄2 teaspoon vanill
a
Beat in a large bowl until fluffy:
6 tablespoons (3⁄4 stick) butter, softened, or 1⁄3 cup vegetable shortening
1 1⁄3 cups sugar or 1 cup sugar plus 1⁄ 3 cup packed brown sugar
Beat in one at a time:
2 large eggs
Add and beat on low speed just until blended:
1 cup cooked or canned pumpkin puree
Add the flour mixture in 3 parts, alternating with the milk mixture, beating on low speed or stirring with a rubber spatula until smooth and scraping the sides of the bowl as necessary. Fold in:
1⁄2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts or pecans
1⁄3 cup raisins or chopped dates

Pour into the prepared pan and spread evenly. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 1 hour. Let cool in the pan on a rack for 5 to 10 minutes before unmolding to cool completely on the rack.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.