No Slivers Here

October 30, 2008

Chicken Cacciatore with Crisp Polenta

Filed under: Chicken, Italian, Main Dish, Vegetables — Tags: — bettylou79 @ 11:48 am

I spotted this recipe in my Everyday Food magazine recently. I know that comes as a great surprise that I am posting a recipe from that magazine!! I love Chicken Cacciatore and this recipe sounded great to me. I thought that the olives and mushrooms would give it a different flavor would add a new element.

I enjoyed this recipe but I don’t think that my husband enjoyed it. I made the mushroom pieces large enough so that he could avoid them/pick them out! I think if I do make it again I might shred the chicken before serving it.

This was our first time trying Polenta. I thought it was very good and I’m excited to try it again in other recipes. When I was at the grocery store I had the polenta in my cart and when I was in the meat department I had to ask the butcher a question about some chicken. He saw the polenta and asked me if it was good. I had to tell him that I hadn’t tried it but I would let him know. So now the butcher and I are friends! Ahh! I’m one of those people who made friends with their butcher.

Chicken Cacciatore with Crisp Polenta

source: Everyday Food; Martha Stewart

Ingredients

Serves 4

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 8 skinless chicken thighs (about 3 pounds total)
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 10 ounces white mushrooms, trimmed and quartered
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 can (28 ounces) whole tomatoes in juice, broken up with a spoon
  • 1 cup dry white wine, such as Sauvignon Blanc
  • 2 medium onions, each cut into 8 wedges
  • 4 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 1/3 cup pitted green olives, halved
  • 1 tube (16 ounces) plain prepared polenta, sliced into 12 rounds

Directions

  1. In a 5-quart Dutch oven or heavy pot, heat 2 tablespoons oil over medium-high. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Working in two batches, sear chicken, meaty side down, until browned, 6 to 8 minutes; transfer to a plate (chicken will cook more in step 2).
  2. Add mushrooms to pot; cook, stirring occasionally, until browned, 2 to 3 minutes. Add flour, and cook, stirring, 1 minute. Add tomatoes (with their juice), wine, onions, garlic, olives, and chicken (with any juices). Bring to a boil; reduce to a simmer, and cook until chicken is cooked through, 15 to 20 minutes. Season stew with salt and pepper.
  3. While stew is cooking, heat broiler. On a rimmed baking sheet, brush both sides of polenta slices with remaining oil; season with salt and pepper. Broil, without turning, until deep golden brown, 10 to 15 minutes. Serve chicken cacciatore over polenta.

Golden Potato Leek Soup with Cheese Toasts

Filed under: Bread, Main Dish, Soup, Vegetables — Tags: — bettylou79 @ 11:22 am

I love this soup and to me it says Fall. I went to the Farmer’s Market in town for it’s last weekend until it starts again in May. It was so relaxing to stroll around the market with my Caramel Apple Cider, thank you Starbucks, on a sunny crisp afternoon. So many of the vendors were having great specials on their fruits and vegetables. I think it was because of all the produce they had that they needed to get rid of quick. One farmer had bunches of leeks that were $2 so I had to take advantage. I ended up buying 2 bunches at that price. I’m giving one to my mom in a few days.

I love the simplicity of this recipe as well as how quick the soup is ready as opposed to slaving away in the kitchen all day over the stove! This is the second time I have made this recipe. I did make a few changes in the recipe but it still turned out fine. I used red potatoes and dried Thyme instead of sprigs of it. I also used chicken stock instead of vegetable broth and I used about 2 cans and a half instead of just 2 cans. This recipe also freezes well too.

I found this recipe at my favorite website, Cooking Light. I really need to get a subscription of my own to the magazine instead of waiting for my mom to give me her leftovers!! Hint hint!! Nudge Nudge!!

Enjoy!

Golden Potato-Leek Soup with Cheddar Toasts

source: Cooking Light

Yield

8 servings (serving size: about 1 cup soup and 1 toast)

Ingredients

  • Soup:
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 3 cups thinly sliced leek (about 3 medium)
  • 6 cups cubed peeled Yukon gold potato (about 2 1/4 pounds)
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 (14-ounce) cans organic vegetable broth (such as Swanson Certified Organic)
  • 2 thyme sprigs
  • Cheddar Toasts:
  • 8 (1/4-inch-thick) slices diagonally cut sourdough French bread baguette
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/2 cup (2 ounces) shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • Remaining Ingredients:
  • 1/3 cup whipping cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • Thyme sprigs (optional)

Preparation

Preheat oven to 375°.

To prepare soup, melt butter in a Dutch oven over medium heat. Add leek; cook 10 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally (do not brown).

Add potatoes, water, salt, broth, and 2 thyme sprigs. Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer, uncovered, 20 minutes or until potatoes are very tender.

To prepare cheddar toasts, place baguette slices in a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake at 375° for 7 minutes or until toasted. Turn slices over; coat with cooking spray, and sprinkle 1 tablespoon cheese over each slice. Bake 5 minutes or until cheese melts. Sprinkle evenly with red pepper.

Remove pan from heat; discard thyme sprigs. Partially mash potatoes with a potato masher; stir in cream. Sprinkle with black pepper. Serve with cheddar toasts. Garnish with thyme sprigs, if desired.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.