No Slivers Here

October 30, 2008

Chicken Cacciatore with Crisp Polenta

Filed under: Chicken, Italian, Main Dish, Vegetables — Tags: — bettylou79 @ 11:48 am

I spotted this recipe in my Everyday Food magazine recently. I know that comes as a great surprise that I am posting a recipe from that magazine!! I love Chicken Cacciatore and this recipe sounded great to me. I thought that the olives and mushrooms would give it a different flavor would add a new element.

I enjoyed this recipe but I don’t think that my husband enjoyed it. I made the mushroom pieces large enough so that he could avoid them/pick them out! I think if I do make it again I might shred the chicken before serving it.

This was our first time trying Polenta. I thought it was very good and I’m excited to try it again in other recipes. When I was at the grocery store I had the polenta in my cart and when I was in the meat department I had to ask the butcher a question about some chicken. He saw the polenta and asked me if it was good. I had to tell him that I hadn’t tried it but I would let him know. So now the butcher and I are friends! Ahh! I’m one of those people who made friends with their butcher.

Chicken Cacciatore with Crisp Polenta

source: Everyday Food; Martha Stewart

Ingredients

Serves 4

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 8 skinless chicken thighs (about 3 pounds total)
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 10 ounces white mushrooms, trimmed and quartered
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 can (28 ounces) whole tomatoes in juice, broken up with a spoon
  • 1 cup dry white wine, such as Sauvignon Blanc
  • 2 medium onions, each cut into 8 wedges
  • 4 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 1/3 cup pitted green olives, halved
  • 1 tube (16 ounces) plain prepared polenta, sliced into 12 rounds

Directions

  1. In a 5-quart Dutch oven or heavy pot, heat 2 tablespoons oil over medium-high. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Working in two batches, sear chicken, meaty side down, until browned, 6 to 8 minutes; transfer to a plate (chicken will cook more in step 2).
  2. Add mushrooms to pot; cook, stirring occasionally, until browned, 2 to 3 minutes. Add flour, and cook, stirring, 1 minute. Add tomatoes (with their juice), wine, onions, garlic, olives, and chicken (with any juices). Bring to a boil; reduce to a simmer, and cook until chicken is cooked through, 15 to 20 minutes. Season stew with salt and pepper.
  3. While stew is cooking, heat broiler. On a rimmed baking sheet, brush both sides of polenta slices with remaining oil; season with salt and pepper. Broil, without turning, until deep golden brown, 10 to 15 minutes. Serve chicken cacciatore over polenta.
1 Comment »

  1. Looks great – and I bet that crispy polenta was great!

    -DTW
    http://www.everydaycookin.blogspot.com

    Comment by Darius T. Williams — October 30, 2008 @ 8:09 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

