No Slivers Here

November 12, 2008

Chicken Enchiladas

Filed under: Chicken, Main Dish, Mexican — Tags: — bettylou79 @ 12:04 pm

I love Mexican food and this along with tacos is one of my favorite recipes to make. I grew up in an area that had a large Hispanic population and therefore there were several Mexican restaurants all over the Skagit Valley. I really miss those great Mom and Pop family restaurants. Each restaurant’s food and decor was a little different too. I’ve said before that I’m a bit of a food snob and that also carries over to restaurants. I really have a tough time going to large national chain Mexican food restaurants. I’m sure you can think of a few!!

I must confess that each time I make Chicken Enchiladas I make them a bit different and I never make them the same. I think that next time I go to a Mexican restaurant I will have to order and Enchilada and dissect it in my mind. Don’t worry, I won’t pick it apart! When I make these Chicken Enchiladas I always think of my friend from high school who made these for a friend and I. It’s amazing the things that stick in your memory!

As I said earlier, I make these different every time. I did find a recipe that is similar to what I do. The biggest things that I do that were different were that I add a can of refried beans and some of the enchilada sauce to the chicken mixture, I also add about 1/3 cup of sour cream to the mixture. Someone out there is probably yelling that I’m actually making a burrito! Oops!

On to the recipe and pictures. Fair warning! This recipe (mine) makes enough for a crowd!! I served this with some Spanish rice.

Here is the recipe that I based my most recent Enchiladas on. The recipe has pictures too!

100_3361

Mom’s Chicken Enchiladas Recipe

source: SimplyRecipes.com

100_3363



Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

