No Slivers Here

November 24, 2008

Cinnamon Apple Waffles

Filed under: Bread, Breakfast, Fruit — Tags: — bettylou79 @ 12:07 pm

Yes, another apple recipe! My mom brought me a large bag of apples from a local farm in Mount Vernon a few weeks ago and I’m slowly going through them Even though this recipe doesn’t use many of those apples, it was still great! I’ve made applesauce with this recipe and then as you might have read I also made an Apple Cranberry Crisp.

Last night and this morning I went on a hunt for a recipe for Apple Waffles. I thought that I remembered making apple waffles last year around this time of year. I thought the recipe was in the owners manual that came with our Cuisnart Waffle Maker but I couldn’t find the manual and I also went to Cuisinart’s website and looked at their recipe section but with no success! Next step was on to Google, no luck, well at least not quickly! I looked at all my tried and true sites and still no luck! At some point in that search I decided that it was time for bed or I would be up all night looking for that silly recipe! This morning I figured that going through my large collection of cookbooks wouldn’t be a bad idea! Again, no such luck! Argh! Back to Google I went! This time I became a bit more precise in my search and typed in the type of apples that I wanted in the recipe (shredded apples). Eureka! Well, this wasn’t the recipe that I used last year but it was just as good! Enjoy!

100_3407

Cinnamon Apple Waffles

source: Breakfast-and-Brunch-Recipes.com

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cooking Time: 15 minutes

Ingredient List:

3 eggs
1 Cup milk
1/2 cup melted butter
1 Tablespoon vanilla
2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon baking powder
2 teaspoons sugar
1 medium apple, peeled and shredded
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Kitchen Equipment Needed

2 Mixing bowls
waffle maker

Instructions:

Step 1: In a medium to large mixing bowl, beat eggs until thick and creamy.

Step 2: Add milk, melted butter and vanilla to the eggs. Beat well until incorporated.

Step 3: In a separate mixing bowl, sift together the flour, salt, baking powder, sugar and cinnamon.

Step 4: Slowly add the flour mixture into the egg mixture. Mix well.

Step 5: Stir in the fresh shredded apple.

Step 6: Bake as your waffle iron or waffle maker directs.

Makes about 7-8 waffles. Serves 4.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

