No Slivers Here

December 1, 2008

Apple Walnut Muffins

Filed under: Bread, Breakfast, Dessert, Fruit — Tags: , — bettylou79 @ 10:13 am

I should have titled this, “Do you know the muffin man?” I’ve been on a muffin kick lately as you may have noticed. I love how easy they are to put together and they also take such little time to bake. After we’ve had our fill of a particular muffin I freeze the rest in Ziploc baggies, 2 per baggie, that way we can take them out for breakfast when we’re in a hurry or the cereal is gone! These muffins will be great for breakfasts but also for a snack. The muffin in the picture that is torn in half has already been eaten by yours truly!

I still have a big bag of apples sitting out on the deck. Any ideas of what to do with them?? I’ve done applesauce and I think Apple Hand Pies might be next. Send me those ideas!

I found this recipe in my Joy of Cooking cookbook. I’m also on a kick of using my cookbooks instead of printing off recipes! Maybe it’s because my printer is out of ink and I’m too cheap to go and get another cartridge! Those suckers are expensive!! Back to the recipe!

I also got to break in a new tool that I bought at a Pampered Chef party earlier in the month. I was already thinking of buying the tool but all my friend Jodi had to do was show me hers and tell me that she uses it for making muffins and cupcakes and I was sold! She mentioned that she just has to use two scoops and that fills each tin. I will be having an online Pampered Chef party soon. I would send you to the website right now but it’s being extra slow! Here is a picture of the scooper that I bought.

pampered-chef-md-scoopHere is a picture of my muffins

100_3423

Apple Walnut Muffins

source: Joy of Cooking

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs, beaten
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups grated apple
5 tablespoons butter, melted
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I used pecans because I’m allergic to walnuts)

Directions:

  • Sift the dry ingredients together and then set aside.
  • Whisk eggs and sugar together. Stir in apples and let sit for 10 minutes so that the apples release their juices. Stir in the melted butter and nuts.
  • Fold into dry ingredients. Divide batter among 12 greased or lined muffin tins.
  • Bake at 400 degrees for 14 to 16 minutes, until a testing stick comes out clean. Let cool for a few minutes before removing them from the pans as they are very tender.
1 Comment »

  1. I love my PC scoop – the large one is perfect for muffins (just one scoop is enough!) Hope you have a successful PC party and if you’re ever interested, I provide my hosts with more freebies than the usual PC specials and all Nesties get an automatic 10% off. 🙂

    Comment by Joelen — December 1, 2008 @ 10:23 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

