No Slivers Here

December 20, 2008

Cornbread-and-beef skillet pie

Filed under: Beef, Bread, Main Dish, Vegetables — Tags: — bettylou79 @ 2:26 pm

I’ve been digging into my old Everyday Food magazine issues for recipe ideas and came across this one. This recipe turned out quite well considering some of the mistakes and changes we made. Tonight my husband volunteered (no I didn’t force him) to help with dinner. Unfortunately this time too many cooks spoiled the broth. I gave him the task of making the cornbread, sounds simple enough but he mistakenly added the extra flour that was reserved for my meat mixture. So I forget the flour and water for my mixture. The reason I forgot it was because I didn’t read on in the recipe and just assumed the rest talked about how long to cook the meat! Oops! All in all the recipe turned out just fine! We are eager to try this again, but this time we will be following the directions more closely.

I did make a few changes to the recipe. I omitted the mushrooms and replaced them with 2 red potatoes chopped into cubes. In the future I will follow the recipe and add the flour and water. I even found myself thinking that the meat mixture looked like it needed some water. I’m also tempted to add some garlic next time. One more change that I made was that I didn’t cook it in the oven in a skillet because I don’t have a pan that can go from the stove to the oven. I hope Santa heard me!!! So I transfered the mixture to a pie pan and baked it in the oven.

Enjoy!

100_3486

Cornbread-and-beef Skillet Pie

source: Everyday Food, Martha Stewart

Ingredients

Serves 4

  • 1/2 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 red bell peppers (ribs and seeds removed), thinly sliced
  • 1 medium red onion, chopped
  • 1 package (10 ounces) white mushrooms, trimmed and thinly sliced
  • 1 1/2 pounds ground sirloin
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • 3/4 cup reduced-fat sour cream
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a small bowl, whisk together cornmeal, 1/2 cup flour, baking soda, and 1/2 teaspoon salt; set aside.
  2. In a large ovenproof skillet, heat oil over medium-high. Add peppers, onion, and mushrooms; season with salt and pepper. Cook until tender, 6 to 8 minutes, tossing occasionally.
  3. Raise heat to high; add beef and tomato paste. Cook, stirring, until meat is no longer pink, 3 to 5 minutes. Stir in remaining 2 tablespoons flour and 2/3 cup water; season with salt and pepper.
  4. Make cornmeal batter: Add sour cream and egg to reserved cornmeal mixture; stir just until moistened. Drop tablespoons of batter over beef mixture in skillet, 1 inch apart. Bake until biscuits are golden brown and a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, 15 to 20 minutes.

100_3487

1 Comment »

  1. Oooh, that looks pretty hearty and perfect for the cold winter!

    Comment by joelen — December 22, 2008 @ 1:19 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

