No Slivers Here

January 16, 2009

Healthy Banana-Blueberry Muffins

Filed under: Bread, Breakfast, Fruit — Tags: — bettylou79 @ 1:17 pm

Sometimes I think I should change the name of this blog to incorporate all the muffins that I make!  I will admit that I do want a muffin cookbook.  I know they are out there!!  Just go check out Amazon.com like I just did!  Oh goodness!  It is so overwhelming!

I saw this recipe in my new issue of Everyday Food.  I think the idea of both banana and blueberry together is what sold me.  I just so happened to have 3 bananas in my refrigerator who were not so appetizing and I also have several frozen bags of blueberries in my freezer.  Eureka!  I made these muffins for breakfast this weekend.  I did make a few changes as you will see in red below.  Also, the recipe says that it yields a dozen muffins but I ended up with 16.  That was okay with me because I froze about 6 of them for breakfasts later.  My freezer is being taken over by muffins in case you were curious!  Enjoy!

100_3539

Healthy Banana-Blueberry Muffins

source: Everyday Food magazine

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour (spooned and leveled) (I used AP flour)
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ (I used AP flour)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 ripe bananas (about 1 pound)
  • 1/3 cup reduced-fat (2 percent) milk
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a 12-cup muffin pan with paper liners. In a bowl, whisk together flours, wheat germ, baking soda, and salt.
  2. In a large bowl, beat butter and sugars with a mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. In another bowl, mash bananas with a fork (you should have 3/4 cup); stir in milk and vanilla.
  3. With mixer on low, alternately add flour mixture and banana mixture to butter mixture, beginning and ending with flour mixture; mix just until combined. Fold in frozen blueberries.
  4. Divide batter among muffin cups. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean, 25 to 28 minutes, rotating pan halfway through. Let cool in pan 10 minutes; transfer muffins to a rack to cool 10 minutes more.
1 Comment »

  1. I should have a muffin day and make a few batches – its been awhile since I’ve made muffins and you’ve inspired me!

    Comment by Joelen — January 17, 2009 @ 1:08 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

