No Slivers Here

March 24, 2009

Lemony Tortellini with Peas and Prosciutto

Filed under: Main Dish, Pasta, Pork — Tags: , — bettylou79 @ 11:35 am

When I was making this week’s menu I was thumbing through last month’s issue of Everyday Food.  I remembered that there was a recipe section about different types of pasta.  This recipe reminded me of Giada’s Lemon Spaghetti recipe.  I love that this recipe had peas in it.   It was pretty funny to see all the gadgets that I had out when I was making this recipe.  I had the lemon zester out, the garlic press, and the lemon juicer.

This recipe does go together pretty fast.  I made a few small changes to the ingredients.  I didn’t use frozen tortellini but instead I used fresh.  I also didn’t use prosciutto but used 4 slices of bacon instead.  I also ommitted the 2nd tablespoon of olive oil, because I felt that there was enough fat in the pan from the bacon.

I think this will make great leftovers for my husband’s dinner tomorrow.  He’ll love the bacon!

Enjoy!

100_3719

Lemony Tortellini with Peas and Prosciutto

source: Everyday Food

Ingredients

Serves 4

  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 1/2 pounds frozen cheese tortellini
  • 1 package (10 ounces) frozen peas
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 ounces thinly sliced prosciutto, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest, plus 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

Lemony Tortellini with Peas and Prosciutto

source: Everyday Food, Martha Stewart

Directions

  1. In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook tortellini until al dente. Reserve 1/2 cup pasta water. Add peas to pot; drain pasta mixture, and set aside.
  2. In the same pot, heat 1 tablespoon oil over medium-high heat; add prosciutto and garlic. Cook, stirring frequently, until browned, 2 to 4 minutes.
  3. Add pasta mixture, pasta water, 1 tablespoon oil, and lemon zest and juice; toss to combine. Season with salt and pepper.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

