No Slivers Here

April 3, 2009

Spicy Chicken Stir-Fry with Peanuts

Filed under: Chicken, Chinese, Main Dish — Tags: , — bettylou79 @ 10:33 am

I feel like I’ve been on a stir-fry kick lately.  Maybe it’s because they are so easy to make  and are simple to make for one person.  I actually made this meal for my husband and I this past weekend.  We loved the spiciness and I thought it was pretty interesting  because when I was making it I felt like I was in a Thai restaurant because of the smell.  My husband took the leftovers to work the next day and he said it was great.  The recipe below is for one person so just double it for two people.   I served this over white rice.

Enjoy!

100_3733

Spicy Chicken Stir-Fry with Peanuts

source: Everyday Food, Martha Stewart

Ingredients

Serves 1

  • 1 teaspoon peanut oil
  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast half (6 to 8 ounces), thinly sliced crosswise
  • 1 garlic clove, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 to 1 serrano or jalapeno chile, thinly sliced crosswise
  • 4 ounces snow peas (about 1 1/2 cups), stem ends trimmed
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon chopped roasted peanuts
  • 1/4 cup basil leaves, torn (optional)

Directions

  1. In a medium nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium-high. Add chicken; cook until browned on one side, 2 to 3 minutes.
  2. Add garlic, chile, snow peas, and 2 tablespoons water; cook until chicken is opaque throughout, about 3 minutes. Season with salt and pepper; stir in lime juice, peanuts, and if using, basil.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

