No Slivers Here

April 7, 2009

Orange-Glazed Chicken with Carrots and Bulgur

Filed under: Chicken, Main Dish, Vegetables — Tags: , — bettylou79 @ 11:00 am

Like I usually do when I’m making the weekly menu I  browsed through my newest issue of Everyday Food and looked at the recipes that I had dog eared.  I came across this one and knew I wanted to try it because I had a lot of the ingredients on hand already.  Yeah for saving money at the grocery store later!  Chicken legs were buy one get one free a month or two ago so I had a package of those in the freezer.  I also “thought” I had orange marmalade in the refrigerator.  Much to my dismay, it was apricot preserves.  Oops!  I made a quick call to my mom to ask if there was going to be a big difference or not.  She didn’t think so, so I moved forward.  You see, we have 2 grocery stores that aren’t that far away when there isn’t traffic but with traffic and everyone else just getting off of work, the thought didn’t sound too appealing!  So, when I try this recipe again I will make it with marmalade.

This was my first time preparing bulgur.  I’ve had it at my sister-in-laws house though.  Finding it in the store was a bit of an adventure.  I thought that it might be in one of 3 spots.  It might be with the pasta, who knows, or the rice, makes sense to me, or in the organic section.   Ding ding!  It was in the organic section of the grocery store.  Now, I just need to find more recipes to use up some more of what I have leftover.  I guess it’s time to consult the back of the package or maybe my collection of cookbooks! I also loved how quickly the bulgur cooked up, much faster than rice!

After looking at my pictures I think that I needed a green vegetable or even a salad to go with this.  Next time I will add something.  I was also impressed with what little time it took the chicken to bake.  The recipe was almost exact.  Most recipes usually require more time than they specify is needed.  I will make this again.

Enjoy!100_3750

Orange-Glazed Chicken with Carrots and Bulgur

source: Everyday Food and Martha Stewart

Ingredients

Serves 4

  • 8 chicken drumsticks (about 3 pounds total)
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup orange marmalade
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 medium carrots, cut into 1/2-inch chunks
  • 1 cup bulgur
  • 1 teaspoon grated lime zest, plus 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 475 degrees. On a large rimmed baking sheet, arrange chicken in a single layer; season with salt and pepper. Roast 10 minutes. Brush with half the marmalade, and rotate sheet. Continue to roast, brushing once more with marmalade, until chicken is browned and cooked through, 10 to 15 minutes more.
  2. While chicken is roasting, heat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high. Add carrots; season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until beginning to brown, 8 to 10 minutes. Add bulgur and 1 1/2 cups water; bring to a boil. Cover, and reduce heat to low; cook until bulgur is tender, 10 to 12 minutes. Stir in lime zest and juice; season with salt and pepper. Serve chicken with bulgur.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

