No Slivers Here

April 21, 2009

Broccoli, Tomato, and Mozzarella Stromboli

Filed under: Italian, Main Dish, Pork — Tags: , — bettylou79 @ 1:04 pm

I saw this recipe in my Everyday Food magazine and folded down the corner to remind myself to come back to it in a week or two.  I have made stromboli before and have even had them in New York and they were delicious.

To me this recipe was a bit lacking.  I think it needs more spices.  I will probably make those changes if I make it again.  I did make a few changes in the recipe.  I used pizza dough that was  bit different than what you get in the roll in the refrigerator section, instead I used pizza dough from Trader Joes.  I love that stuff!  I also didn’t use the salami the recipe called for, instead I used chopped up ham that I had left over from Easter.  As I’m writing this I’m also starting to wonder what the stromboli would be like with chopped spinach instead of broccoli.  Hmm!

Enjoy!

100_3763

Broccoli, Tomato, and Mozzarella Stromboli

source: Everyday Food, Martha Stewart

Ingredients

Serves 4

  • 1 pound pizza dough, thawed if frozen
  • All-purpose flour, for work surface
  • 1 package (1 pound) frozen chopped broccoli, thawed
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 cup marinara sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded part-skim mozzarella (6 ounces)
  • 2 ounces thinly sliced Genoa salami, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a large rimmed baking sheet with foil. Divide dough into 4 pieces. On a lightly floured work surface, stretch out each piece, first to a 3-by-4 inch oval, then to a 6-by-8-inch oval (let dough rest briefly if too elastic to work with).
  2. Place broccoli in a strainer, and press to remove excess liquid. Transfer to a double layer of paper towels, and pat dry.
  3. Dividing evenly, scatter broccoli over dough, leaving a 1/2-inch border. Sprinkle with garlic, and season with salt and pepper. Dividing evenly, top with mozzarella, salami, and 1/2 cup marinara.
  4. Starting at a shorter end, roll up each stromboli, and place, seam side down, on baking sheet. Using the tip of a paring knife, cut two slits in the top of each. Brush with oil. Bake until golden, 25 to 30 minutes. Serve stromboli with 1/2 cup marinara for dipping.
1 Comment »

  1. This sounds so tasty, great job!

    Comment by thecookingnurse — April 21, 2009 @ 10:33 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

