No Slivers Here

April 21, 2009

Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Filed under: Cookies, Dessert — Tags: , — bettylou79 @ 12:47 pm

I made these last week for a student in a class that I’m teaching one day a week.  He was done with the class so I wanted to bring something to congratulate him but also to celebrate.  He is a senior in high school and has decided to go to my alma mater next year.  Go Eags!  The class is 14 weeks long and most students come 14 weeks in a row, others come sporadically.  In the class I’m teaching the students about making good choices, social skills and how to manage their anger.  I was going to give this student a choice of  cookies but time got away from me so I decided to go with the classic and always safe, Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I have another student who is about to finish the class soon too.  I will probably give him a choice of cookie recipes.

When I decided to make chocolate chip cookies I knew that I wanted to try a different recipe (usually I use the recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag).  This time I chose to consult my Martha Stewart cookies cookbook.  I knew their had to be a recipe in there!  I was in luck!  These turned out just like the title  says, soft and chewy!  They are definitely being added to the cookie repitore!  I’m still trying to replicate the delicious Mrs. Field’s cookies.  That might take some time.

I don’t have a picture of the cookies.  I’m assuming you know what chocolate chip cookies look like but also the whole batch is gone.  I took half to class and kept the rest here.  We made fast work of them!

Enjoy!

Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

source:  Martha Stewart Cookies and Martha Stewart

Ingredients

Makes about 3 dozen

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups (about 12 ounces) semisweet and/or milk chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour and baking soda; set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the butter with both sugars; beat on medium speed until light and fluffy. Reduce speed to low; add the salt, vanilla, and eggs. Beat until well mixed, about 1 minute. Add flour mixture; mix until just combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  2. Drop heaping tablespoon-size balls of dough about 2 inches apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.
  3. Bake until cookies are golden around the edges, but still soft in the center, 8 to 10 minutes. Remove from oven, and let cool on baking sheet 1 to 2 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack, and let cool completely. Store cookies in an airtight container at room temperature up to 1 week.
1 Comment »

  1. i’ve been a fan of Alton Brown’s recipe but I’d love to try Martha’s to compare! Looks great!

    Comment by joelen — April 21, 2009 @ 2:39 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

